Passport Canada Consultations on Passport Services

Survey Report

Prepared for Passport Canada
November 2009

Executive Summary

Passport Canada commissioned Phoenix SPI to undertake research to explore issues related to a new 10-year ePassport that the Government of Canada intends to launch in 2011. The objective was to obtain Canadians’ perceptions of the enhanced passport, including a number of service-related issues, in advance of its launch. The research results will enable Passport Canada to better understand public perceptions of the new validity period and the enhanced product, and make informed decisions regarding implementation of the 10-year ePassport and the development of related communications.

This report presents the results of a telephone survey with 1,512 Canadian citizens, 16 years of age and older, conducted October 24 to November 14, 2009. Based on a sample of this size, the overall results can be considered to be accurate to within +/- 2.6%, 19 times out of 20. Results for the other elements of this research program – a set of in-depth interviews and focus groups – are available under separate cover.

Passport Status and Usage

In total, 69% of surveyed Canadians said they currently have a valid Canadian passport. Most passport holders reported using their passport infrequently for travel outside Canada (29% use it less than once a year, 43% once or twice a year). Regardless of frequency of use, the large majority of passport holders (88%) said they intend to ensure that they always have a valid passport, and plan to renew it before it expires.

Among non-holders of a Canadian passport (31%/n = 498), 61% said they have never had one. Non-holders of a passport were equally divided over the likelihood of applying for one within the next 12 months: 49% think they will apply (26% said definitely, 23% probably), and 49% think they will not apply (26% definitely not, 23% probably not).

Perceptions of Canadian Passport

Respondents were asked to identify any benefits or concerns that they associate with the current Canadian passport. The main benefit identified, by far, is that it facilitates travel. This includes facilitating international travel in general (60%), and travel to the United States in particular (29%). Beyond this, the only other benefit mentioned with considerable frequency is that the passport provides authoritative proof of identity (26%). Fully 70% of Canadians said they have no concerns with respect to the passport, or anything they do not like about it. The only concerns or negative aspects identified with any frequency were the 5-year validity period, which was perceived as too short (7%), and the perception that the passport is expensive (6%).

Perceptions of New 10-Year Electronic Passport

The large majority of Canadians (82%) were not aware of plans to introduce an enhanced Canadian passport by 2011. After listening to a short description of it, over three-quarters (78%) described their initial impression of the enhanced passport as positive (40% said very positive). The rest were almost evenly split between those whose initial impression was neither positive nor negative (10%), and those whose impression was negative (9%).

The 10-year validity period topped the list of benefits seen to result from the introduction of the enhanced passport, identified by 55% (on an unaided basis). This was followed, at a distance, by the impression that it would increase security/lessen fraud by making the Phoenix Strategic Perspectives Inc. i 10-Year ePassport – Focus Group Report 2009 passport harder to forge (22%), make it more efficient/easier to go through customs (19%), and could result in money savings (14%).

Using a 7-point scale (1 = not important at all, 7 = very important), two-thirds or more assigned at least moderate importance to each of five potential benefits that could result from the introduction of the enhanced passport. Respondents were most likely to assign importance to increased security/reduced fraud (85%), increased convenience (85%), and increased efficiency at customs (83%). Moreover, 67-73% assigned strong importance (scores of 6-7) to each of these potential benefits. Approximately three-quarters assigned importance to making Canada’s borders more secure (73%), and two-thirds to potential environmental benefits (67%), with majorities assigning strong importance to each.

On an unaided basis, well over half of surveyed Canadians (61%) said they have no concerns regarding the enhanced passport. Among the concerns that were identified, the only ones mentioned with any frequency were concern about the amount of information stored on the chip (13%), the impression that the 10-year validity period is too long (7%), and concern over cost issues/increased costs (7%).

Using a similar 7-point scale (1 = not concerned at all, 7 = very concerned), respondents assessed six potential concerns related to the introduction of the enhanced passport. The only issue about which a majority expressed concern (scores of 5 or more) related to the possible negative consequences if the electronic chip is damaged while traveling (58%). On the other hand, there were three issues for which majorities expressed little or no concern (i.e. scores of 1-3): the inclusion of an electronic chip in the passport (59%), the possibility that the passport would become dated because it is valid for 10 years (59%), and the amount of information stored on the electronic chip (53%). That said, at least onequarter of respondents expressed at least moderate concern with each of these, with the highest level of concern being the amount of information stored on the chip (36%). Respondents were divided on two issues: the potential for monitoring or surveillance because of the chip (47% expressed little or no concern, while 41% expressed at least moderate concern), and the safety/security of information stored on the chip (half expressed at least moderate concern, while 40% expressed little or none).

Three-quarters or more assigned at least moderate importance (scores of 5 or more on a 7-point scale) to each of four reasons related to the introduction of the enhanced passport. Moreover, majorities assigned strong importance to each of them (i.e. scores of 6-7). Respondents were most likely to assign importance to increasing passport security by combating forgery, identity fraud and tampering (86%), and helping Canadian travelers continue to enjoy a high level of visa-free access to other countries (83%). As well, 79% assigned importance to complying with the latest international standards for secure travel documents, and 74% to the fact that over 60 countries already issue electronic passports, including all other G8 countries.

If offered the choice, 76% of Canadians said they would prefer a 10-year passport to a 5- year passport at half the price (22% would prefer a 5-year passport, while 2% had no preference).

After respondents had been exposed to the additional information about the enhanced passport, including potential benefits and concerns, they were asked again about their impressions of it. The large majority (84%) described their overall impression of the enhanced passport, all things considered, as positive (41% said very positive). The rest were split between those whose impression was neutral (8%) and those whose impression was negative (7%). Compared to their initial impressions, Canadians became moderately more positive about the enhanced passport after learning more about it, with positive ratings increasing from 78% to 84%.

Cost and Service Issues

Two-thirds of Canadians think it is somewhat (45%) or very reasonable (21%) for the cost of children’s passports to be subsidized. Conversely, one-third think this is not very (13%) or not at all reasonable (20%).

Approximately two-thirds think it should take up to three weeks for Passport Canada to process an application under normal, non-rush circumstances: 19% said three weeks, 38% said two weeks, and 12% said one week. When it comes to urgent requests, almost half think it should take no more than three business days to receive their passport. Onequarter think this should take 4-5 days, 21% say 6-10 days, and 5% say 11 or more days.

When it comes to Canadians’ awareness of the ways in which one can submit a passport application, Passport Canada channels dominate. Just over half (53%) said one can submit a passport application in-person at a Passport Canada office, and almost as many (51%) said one can send an application to Passport Canada by mail. This was followed, at a distance, by 28% who believe (incorrectly) that one can submit an application online. One in ten identified submitting an application in-person at a Canada Post office/outlet, 8% pointed to in-person submission at a Service Canada Centre, and 7% identified government offices in general.

Fully 70% of Canadians think it is more reasonable that there be a quicker standard for passport applications submitted in person at Passport Canada offices (compared to other service channels), while 28% think it is more reasonable to have the same standard for all modes of service.

Subgroup Differences

On the whole, subgroup differences, while evident, did not tend to be large or pervasive. In three categories, differences tended to be patterned: age, education, and income. In terms of age, perceptions/knowledge tended to increase or decrease with age, or distinguish younger from older Canadians. These differences were most evident in relation to perceptions of the enhanced passport, and included the following:

  • Awareness of the new passport increased with age.
  • Canadians over 45 were more likely to be initially very positive about the enhanced passport.
  • When later asked for their overall impressions of the enhanced passport, all things considered, positive assessments increased with age
  • The likelihood of attributing strong importance to all reasons for introducing the new passport increased with age.

Similarly, differences by education, while not pervasive, tended to follow a pattern (i.e. increasing/decreasing with education, distinguishing Canadians with a university degree from those without one, or distinguishing Canadians with a high school education or less from others). These differences included the following:

  • Passport possession increased noticeably with education.
  • The likelihood of attributing strong importance to the following potential benefits of the enhanced passport decreased with education: increased efficiency, making Canadian borders more secure, and environmental benefits.
  • Preference for a 10-year passport increased with education.

Differences by income tended to mirror differences by education. Differences by region, rural-urban location, gender, language, and passport holder status, while evident, did not tend to follow patterns.

Conclusions and Implications

Overall reaction to the enhanced passport is largely positive and underscored by widespread preference for a 10-year compared to a 5-year passport. While positive reaction, especially top-of-mind reaction, is based primarily on the extension of the validity period, the ePassport aspect also resonates with Canadians as they learn more about it.

That said, the ePassport aspect of the enhanced passport is also the aspect most likely to generate concerns or questions. This includes questions about the amount and security of the information on the chip, as well as practical questions related to usage, including potential problems with the chip. Representatives of the travel industry voiced similar concerns, but from the perspective of professionals working in the field. In other words, there was concern (especially among travel agents) that travellers would be bringing these types of concerns of questions to them, looking for answers. Beyond this, the only concerns/questions identified with any frequency concerned the cost implications of the enhanced passport (the assumption being that the cost of the passport will increase), and concern about the potential out-datedness of the passport because of the 10-year validity period. Among tour operators, the cost implications of the new passport were particularly important since the cost of a passport was seen have an impact on the likelihood of travel (especially family travel), and therefore on their own business.

In short, despite an overall positive reaction to the enhanced passport, Canadians have many questions, suggesting the need for effective communications messaging preceding or accompanying its launch. Both the qualitative and quantitative research revealed that additional information about the enhanced passport tends to reassure and/or improve perceptions of it. Effective communication is all the more important given the limited awareness of the decision to launch the enhanced passport. In other words, it is likely that such communications will constitute the first information most Canadians receive about the enhanced passport. A number of representatives of the travel industry suggested that Passport Canada make available a short Q&A document for professionals in the travel industry so as to allow then to answer questions put to them by the travelling public.

Both qualitative and quantitative research findings suggest that communications should focus on the following:

  • Benefits of, and rationales for, the enhanced passport that resonate most with Canadians: The three main benefits seen to result from the enhanced passport are increased security/reduced fraud, increased efficiency (i.e. helping speed up going through customs in other countries, and increased convenience (i.e. only needing to apply for a passport every 10 years). Note that all three constitute concrete benefits to individuals as opposed to benefits to the country as a whole (e.g. making Canada’s borders more secure). While all reasons for introducing the enhanced passport resonate with Canadians, those resulting in personal as opposed to public benefits resonate most.
  • Drawing links between key benefits: Communications will be more effective to the extent that it draws links between benefits (i.e. how they work together or reenforce each other). For example, the survey revealed that the main perceived benefit, by far, that Canadians associate with the Canadian passport is that it facilitates travel. Consequently, emphasizing how the enhanced passport will contribute to this will likely constitute a powerful communications message. At the same time, it will be important to address concerns that any of the perceived benefits are at odds with each other. For example, concerns that a 10-year validity period adversely affect security and identity validation.
  • Reassurance that what is said about enhanced passport does actually happen: The importance of such reassurance emerged primarily from the qualitative (i.e. focus group) research where participants sometimes qualified their positive reaction to the enhanced passport by saying that they support its introduction based on the following assumptions: it will be effective in preventing fraud, the privacy of information on the chip will be ensured, there will be no additional information on the chip.

Finally, it is worth noting that Canadians’ service-related expectations regarding the amount of time it should take to obtain a passport are in line with current service standards. As well, most view the subsidization of children’s passports as reasonable, and there is considerable support for variable service standards depending on the mode of service used.

Consultations de Passeport Canada sur les services de passeport

Rapport d'enquête

Préparé pour Passeport Canada
Novembre 2009

Sommaire

Passeport Canada a demandé à Phoenix Strategic Perspectives Inc. de mener une recherche afin d’examiner certaines questions concernant le nouveau passeport électronique de dix ans que le gouvernement du Canada entend instaurer en 2011. Il s'agissait de déterminer, avant son lancement, quelles étaient les perceptions des Canadiens à l'égard du passeport amélioré, notamment en ce qui a trait à un certain nombre de questions relatives au service offert. Les résultats de cette recherche permettront à Passeport Canada de mieux comprendre les perceptions du public quant à la nouvelle période de validité et au produit amélioré, et de prendre des décisions éclairées concernant la mise en oeuvre du passeport électronique de dix ans et la mise en place d’une stratégie de communication connexe.

Ce rapport présente les résultats de l'enquête téléphonique menée auprès de 1 512 citoyens canadiens âgés de 16 ans et plus entre le 24 octobre et le 14 novembre 2009. En raison de la taille de l'échantillon, les résultats sont considérés comme étant exacts avec une marge d'erreur de +/- 2,6 %, 19 fois sur 20. Les résultats des autres composantes du programme de recherche, soit une série d’entrevues approfondies ainsi que des groupes de discussion, sont présentés dans un document distinct.

Possession et utilisation du passeport

En tout, 69 % des personnes sondées ont déclaré être titulaires à l'heure actuelle d'un passeport canadien valide. La plupart des titulaires de passeport déclarent utiliser leur passeport de temps en temps pour des voyages à l'extérieur du Canada (29 % l'utilisent moins d'une fois par année, 43 % une ou deux fois par année). Indépendamment de la fréquence de l’utilisation, une large majorité de titulaires de passeport (88 %) disent qu'ils ont l'intention de veiller à toujours posséder un passeport valide et qu’ils prévoient le renouveler avant qu'il n'arrive à expiration.

Parmi les personnes non titulaires d'un passeport canadien (31 %/n = 498), 61 % ont déclaré qu'elles n'en ont jamais eu. Elles se partagent à égalité quant à la probabilité qu'elles fassent une demande de passeport dans les 12 mois à venir. En effet, elles sont 49 % à penser qu'elles en feront la demande dans les 12 prochains mois (26 % en sont certaines, 23 % croient que c'est probable), contre 49 % à penser qu'elles ne le feront pas (26 % sont convaincues qu'elles ne le feront pas, 23 % croient qu'il est probable qu'elles ne le feront pas).

Perceptions à l'égard du passeport canadien

Il a été demandé aux personnes interrogées d'indiquer les avantages et les préoccupations qu’elles associent au passeport canadien actuel. Son principal avantage, et de loin, est qu'il facilite les déplacements, que ce soit à l'étranger en général (60 %) ou aux États-Unis (29 %). Le seul autre avantage indiqué très fréquemment est que le passeport constitue une preuve d’identité faisant autorité (26 %).

Soixante-dix pour cent (70 %) des Canadiens n’ont fait état d’aucune préoccupation ni d’aucun reproche à l'égard du passeport canadien. Les seules préoccupations ou les seuls aspects négatifs mentionnés plus ou moins fréquemment sont que la période de validité de cinq ans est trop courte (7 %) et que le passeport est coûteux (6 %).

Perceptions à l'égard du nouveau passeport électronique de dix ans

La vaste majorité des Canadiens (82 %) ont déclaré ne pas être au courant de l’intention du gouvernement du Canada d’instaurer un passeport amélioré d’ici 2011. Après qu'on leur en ait donné une courte description, plus des trois quarts (78 %) ont déclaré que leur première impression était positive (40 % ont déclaré qu'elle était très positive). Quant au reste, ils étaient presque partagés à égalité entre ceux qui déclarent que leur impression n'était ni positive ni négative (10 %), et ceux dont l'impression était négative (9 %).

La période de validité de dix ans arrive en tête des avantages découlant de l'introduction du passeport amélioré. Elle a été indiquée spontanément par 55 % des personnes interrogées. Suivait, à une certaine distance, l'impression que cela renforcerait la sécurité et diminuerait la fraude en rendant le passeport plus difficile à falsifier (22 %), que le passage aux douanes serait plus efficient et plus rapide (19 %) et que cela se traduirait par des économies (14 %).

En utilisant une échelle de 7 points (où 1 = pas important du tout et 7 = très important), deux tiers ou plus des personnes interrogées ont accordé au moins une importance modérée à chacun des cinq avantages potentiels qui pourraient découler de l'introduction du passeport amélioré. La sécurité et la réduction de la fraude (85 %), une plus grande commodité (85 %) et une efficacité accrue aux douanes (83 %) ont été les avantages dont l'importance a été soulignée le plus souvent. En outre, entre 67 et 73 % des personnes interrogées ont accordé une grande importance (note de 6 ou 7) à chacun de ces avantages potentiels. Environ trois quarts des personnes ont souligné l'importance de renforcer la sécurité aux frontières canadiennes (73 %) et deux tiers ont mentionné des avantages sur le plan environnemental (67 %), la majorité accordant une grande importance à chacun d'entre eux.

Plus de la moitié des personnes interrogées (61 %) ont indiqué spontanément n'avoir aucune préoccupation quant au passeport amélioré. Parmi les préoccupations soulevées, les seules mentionnées avec une certaine régularité concernaient la quantité de données stockées sur la puce (13 %), la période de validité de dix ans jugée trop longue (7 %) et les questions liées aux coûts ou à l'augmentation des coûts (7 %).

En utilisant la même échelle de 7 points (où 1 = pas du tout préoccupé et 7 = très préoccupé), les personnes interrogées ont évalué six préoccupations potentielles liées à l'introduction du passeport amélioré. La seule question ayant suscité une préoccupation pour la majorité d'entre elles (note de 5 ou plus) concerne les problèmes qui pourraient survenir si la puce électronique était endommagée lors d'un voyage (58 %). En revanche, trois questions leur paraissent peu ou pas préoccupantes (note entre 1 et 3) : l'intégration d'une puce électronique dans le passeport (59 %); la possibilité que le passeport devienne périmé en raison de la durée de validité de 10 ans (59 %); et enfin, la quantité de données stockées sur la puce électronique (53 %). Cela dit, au moins un quart des personnes interrogées ont exprimé une préoccupation au moins modérée au sujet de chacun des points soulevés, dont la première concerne la quantité de données stockées sur la puce (36 %). Elles sont divisées sur deux questions : la possibilité d'un contrôle ou d'une surveillance en raison de la puce (47 % ont exprimé peu ou pas d'inquiétude à ce sujet, tandis que 41 % ont exprimé au moins une préoccupation modérée), et la sécurité des données stockées sur la puce (la moitié a exprimé au moins une préoccupation modérée, tandis que 40 % se sont déclarées peu ou pas préoccupées).

Trois quarts ou plus des personnes ont jugé au moins d'une importance modérée (note de 5 ou plus) chacune des quatre raisons avancées pour l'introduction du passeport amélioré. Elles sont une majorité à estimer par ailleurs que ces raisons sont d'une grande importance (note de 6 ou 7). Les personnes interrogées étaient plus susceptibles d'accorder de l'importance au renforcement de la sécurité du passeport par la lutte contre la contrefaçon, la fraude d'identité et la falsification (86 %) et au fait que le passeport canadien permet de voyager sans visa dans de nombreux pays (83 %). De même, 79 % ont accordé de l'importance à la conformité aux normes internationales en vigueur concernant la sécurité des documents de voyage et 74 % au fait que plus de 60 pays délivrent déjà un passeport électronique, notamment tous les autres pays du G8.

S'ils avaient le choix, 76 % des Canadiens préféreraient un passeport de dix ans plutôt qu'un passeport de cinq ans à moitié prix (22 % préféreraient un passeport de cinq ans, tandis que 2 % n'ont pas de préférence).

Après avoir fourni aux personnes interrogées des renseignements additionnels sur le passeport amélioré, notamment en ce qui concerne les avantages potentiels et les sujets de préoccupation, on leur a demandé de nouveau quelles étaient leurs impressions à son sujet. Elles sont 84 % à avoir déclaré qu’après mûre réflexion leur impression était positive (41 % ont déclaré qu'elle était très positive). Les autres se répartissaient ainsi : impression neutre (8 %) et impression négative (7 %). Si on compare ces résultats à leurs premières impressions, on remarque que les personnes interrogées étaient légèrement plus positives à propos du passeport amélioré après avoir obtenu des informations à son sujet, le pourcentage passant de 78 % à 84 %.

Questions relatives au coût et au service

Deux tiers des Canadiens estiment qu'il est un peu normal (45 %) ou très raisonnable (21 %) de subventionner le coût du passeport pour enfants. À l'opposé, ils sont un tiers à penser que ce n'est pas très raisonnable (13 %) ou pas du tout raisonnable (20 %).

Environ deux tiers des personnes interrogées croient qu'en temps normal (en dehors des périodes de pointe), Passeport Canada devrait traiter les demandes dans un délai de trois semaines : 19 % indiquent trois semaines, 38 % deux semaines et 12 % une semaine. Lorsqu'il s'agit d'une demande urgente, près de la moitié des personnes interrogées estiment que cela ne devrait pas prendre plus de trois jours ouvrables pour recevoir un passeport. Un quart d'entre elles estiment que cela devrait prendre entre quatre et cinq jours, 21 % entre six et dix jours et 5 % onze jours ou plus.

En ce qui concerne la manière de soumettre une demande de passeport, la plupart des Canadiens ne font référence qu'à Passeport Canada. Un peu plus de la moitié (53 %) déclarent qu'on peut présenter une demande de passeport en personne dans un bureau de Passeport Canada, et presque autant (51 %) disent qu'on peut faire parvenir une demande par la poste. Viennent ensuite 28 % qui croient, à tort, qu'on peut faire une demande de passeport en ligne. Une personne sur dix mentionne qu'on peut faire une demande en personne dans un bureau de poste, 8 % dans un Centre Service Canada et 7 % dans les bureaux du gouvernement en général.

Ils sont 70 % à penser qu'il serait plus raisonnable d'instaurer une norme permettant la délivrance plus rapide d'un passeport lorsque la demande est faite en personne dans un bureau de Passeport Canada (comparé à d'autres modes de prestation de services), tandis que 28 % croient qu'il est plus raisonnable d'avoir une seule norme pour tous les modes de prestation.

Différences entre les sous-groupes

Dans l'ensemble, les différences entre les sous-groupes, bien que manifestes, ne sont pas nécessairement grandes ou systématiques. Dans trois des catégories, les différences semblent être fonction de l'âge, du niveau de scolarité et du revenu. En ce qui concerne l'âge, les perceptions et les connaissances ont tendance à augmenter ou à diminuer avec l'âge ou à créer un clivage entre les jeunes Canadiens et leurs aînés. Ces différences sont les plus évidentes lorsqu'il s'agit des perceptions à l'égard du passeport amélioré. Mentionnons, entre autres :

  • La sensibilisation au nouveau passeport augmente avec l'âge.
  • Les Canadiens de plus de 45 ans sont plus susceptibles d'être au départ très positifs à l'égard du passeport amélioré.
  • Lorsqu'on leur demande, après réflexion, quelles sont leurs impressions globales à l'égard du passeport amélioré, les évaluations positives augmentent avec l'âge
  • La probabilité qu'une grande importance soit accordée à toutes les raisons justifiant l'introduction du nouveau passeport augmente avec l'âge.

De la même manière, les différences en fonction du niveau de scolarité, bien qu'elles ne soient pas systématiques, suivent elles aussi une certaine tendance (augmentation/diminution en fonction du niveau de scolarité, différence entre les Canadiens diplômés de l’université et ceux qui ne le sont pas, différence entre les Canadiens ayant fait des études secondaires ou d’un niveau inférieur et les autres). Ces différences sont les suivantes :

  • La possession d'un passeport tend à augmenter considérablement en fonction du niveau de scolarité.
  • En ce qui concerne le passeport amélioré, la probabilité qu'une grande importance soit accordée aux avantages potentiels suivants diminue lorsqu'on a fait des études : efficacité accrue, renforcement de la sécurité aux frontières canadiennes et avantages du point de vue de l’environnement.
  • La préférence pour un passeport de dix ans augmente lorsqu'on a fait des études.

Les différences en fonction du revenu sont similaires à celles enregistrées pour le niveau de scolarité. Les différences en fonction des régions ou de l'habitat en milieu urbain ou rural, ou encore les différences en fonction du sexe, de la langue ou de la situation à l'égard de la possession d'un passeport, bien que manifestes, ne semblent pas illustrer de tendances.

Conclusions et répercussions

La réaction globale à l’égard du passeport amélioré est très positive, et presque tous les participants préfèrent la période de validité de 10 ans à celle de 5 ans. Même si la réaction positive, surtout la réaction initiale, est fondée principalement sur la prolongation de la période de validité, l’aspect électronique du passeport plaît également aux Canadiens au fur et à mesure qu’ils en apprennent davantage à ce sujet.

Cela dit, l’aspect électronique du passeport amélioré est également l’élément le plus susceptible de susciter des préoccupations ou des questions. Cela englobe des questions à propos de la quantité et de la sécurité des renseignements contenus dans la puce ainsi que des questions pratiques liées à l’usage, y compris des problèmes potentiels associés à la puce. Les représentants de l’industrie du voyage ont formulé des préoccupations semblables, mais du point de vue de professionnels travaillant dans le domaine. En d’autres mots, les gens craignaient (surtout les agents de voyages) que les voyageurs, en quête de réponses, ne s’adressent à eux pour ce type de préoccupations ou de questions. Hormis cet aspect, la seule préoccupation ou question mentionnée assez fréquemment avait trait aux coûts liés au passeport amélioré (l’hypothèse était que le coût du passeport augmentera) et à la possibilité que le passeport devienne périmé en raison de la période de validité de 10 ans. Chez les organisateurs de voyages, les coûts du nouveau passeport étaient spécialement importants car ils ont, selon eux, une incidence sur l’incitation au voyage (surtout le voyage en famille) et donc sur leur propre entreprise.

Bref, malgré une réaction positive générale à l’égard du passeport amélioré, les Canadiens se posent beaucoup de questions, ce qui laisse croire qu’il est nécessaire de diffuser des messages efficaces avant sa mise en oeuvre ou en même temps. La recherche qualitative et quantitative révèle que les renseignements supplémentaires sur le passeport amélioré ont tendance à rassurer les gens ou à améliorer leurs perceptions à ce sujet. Une communication efficace est d’autant plus importante que les gens sont, somme toute, peu informés de la décision de mettre en oeuvre le passeport amélioré. En d’autres mots, il est probable que ces messages constitueront les premiers renseignements que la plupart des Canadiens recevront à propos du passeport amélioré. Un certain nombre de représentants de l’industrie du voyage ont suggéré que Passeport Canada fournisse un bref document de questions et réponses aux professionnels de l’industrie du voyage afin de leur permettre de répondre aux questions que leur poseront les voyageurs.

Les constatations de la recherche qualitative et quantitative laissent entendre que les communications devraient porter sur les éléments qui suivent :

  • Avantages et justifications du passeport amélioré qui plaisent le plus aux Canadiens — Les trois avantages principaux du passeport amélioré sont l’augmentation de la sécurité et la diminution de la fraude, l’efficience accrue (c.-à-d. accélérer le passage aux douanes d’autres pays) et amélioration du côté pratique (c.-à-d. la nécessité de présenter une demande de passeport tous les 10 ans, plutôt que tous les 5 ans.) Il est important de mentionner que ces trois éléments constituent des avantages concrets dont bénéficieront non pas le pays en entier, mais plutôt les personnes (p. ex. accroître la sécurité aux frontières du Canada). Même si toutes les raisons de la mise en oeuvre du passeport amélioré plaisent aux Canadiens, les avantages personnels leur plaisent encore plus que les avantages publics.
  • Établissement de liens entre les avantages clés — Les communications seront plus efficaces si elles établissent des liens entre les avantages (c.-à-d. la façon dont ils sont interreliés ou dont ils se renforcent). Par exemple, l’enquête a révélé que le principal avantage perçu, et de loin, que les Canadiens associent au passeport canadien est le fait qu’il facilite les voyages. Par conséquent, le fait d’insister sur la façon dont le passeport amélioré contribuera à cet aspect constituera vraisemblablement un message puissant en termes de communication. Parallèlement, il sera important de répondre aux préoccupations selon lesquelles les avantages perçus sont en contradiction. Par exemple, les préoccupations selon lesquelles la période de validité de 10 ans influe négativement sur la sécurité et la validation de l’identité.
  • Nouvelle assurance que ce qui est dit à propos du passeport amélioré est vrai — L’importance de cette nouvelle assurance découle principalement de la recherche Consultations sur les services de passeport — Rapport d'enquête 2009 Phoenix Strategic Perspectives Inc. qualitative (c.-à-d. les groupes de discussion), dans laquelle les participants ont parfois qualifié leur réaction positive au passeport amélioré en affirmant qu’ils appuient sa mise en oeuvre en fonction des présomptions suivantes — il sera efficace pour prévenir la fraude, la protection des renseignements personnels contenus dans la puce sera assurée et il n’y aura pas de renseignements supplémentaires dans la puce.

Enfin, il importe de mentionner que les attentes des Canadiens à l’égard de la période nécessaire pour obtenir un passeport correspondent aux normes de service actuelles. Par ailleurs, la plupart des participants considèrent que l’octroi de subventions pour les passeports pour enfants est raisonnable, et plusieurs normes de service reçoivent un soutien considérable, en fonction du mode de service utilisé.